When I saw this book reviewed on Design*Sponge a few weeks ago,  I was decidedly intrigued since Grace (Design*Sponge  extraordinaire) has great taste and a similar fondness as myself for lush blooms.  Certainly the cover image in alluring!  But I was also decidedly skeptical about two things…

First, it’s an expensive hardbound book.  In today’s economy, it’s hard to justify forking over $45 for just one book.  Especially if it’s essentially a picture book, which is the impression I got from the description on Design*Sponge.  I’m all for pretty pictures of flowers, but I’m very lucky to get to see pretty flowers every single day so it would take a lot for me to buy a book to see the same.

Second, Bringing Nature Home is billed as a book about local seasonal flowers.  Forgive me, but I’ve gotten my hopes up high before about such books, only to cringe at seeing imported roses or orchids on every other page.   I couldn’t help but suspect this one might be the same.

However, dear Lovelies, I was absolutely wrong, on both accounts! Much to my gleeful delight!!  I saw the book today during a stop at Terrain, my inspiration haunt.  I started flipping through its pages, finding my heart skipping a beat with each new stunning and positively seasonally appropriate design by Nicolette Owen (proprietress of Brooklyn’s Little Flower School).  I was also immediately pleased to see the book broken down into four sections — Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter — and it adhered closely to those headings.  The  photos are beautifully styled and decidedly inspirational.  I was so impressed by how approachable flowers in the home were made to be in each luscious image.   And not a single floral design had even a hint of imported, out-of-season elements.  Bravo!

The book does mostly consist of pictures.  But they are breathtaking and also come with detailed captions that give the proper (you don’t know how uncommon this is until you have paged through several floral design books) names of every element in the arrangement, both flowers and foliage.  It also serves to inspire one to use both simple and elaborate displays when showcasing flowers in a room.  At the back of the book are a few pages that give more details on how to create a floral design and what flowers might be in season when selecting blooms, foliage, and seed heads from your own backyard to bring inside.  It is nice to have a bit more technical information included, but it really is very basic and not reason enough to purchase this book.

The reason to buy this book is for unadulterated inspiration.  I promptly plunked down my $45 at Terrain (yes, it was an impulse buy and I could have gotten it for half price on Amazon, but then I wouldn’t have gotten the pretty gift bag…) and am happy to place this beautiful tome in my studio for my own and for clients’ future inspiration.

